I tried to reinvent myself this summer despite the many indecisive days that came my way. I finally figured out that no matter how hard you try to keep things around, it just doesn’t work that way. The world is ever changing. And so shall I.
It wasn’t a big deal to cut my hair; heck people do it all the time. But it was a big change for me because I was cutting my hair to the least imaginable style I had come to think of. I always wanted my hair long. I kept it that way. But like all girls going through some difficult times (me being completely lost and confused), I took the ultimate step and finally let the stylist start working his shears through my thick Auburn hair.
I read The Fault in Our Stars and Hazel seemed impossible to take in as a character because she was going through something I might never understand. Still, today, I tried to connect with her as I ordered a cut resembling hers. I await the days of the movie adapting the book and with it I await my mother’s wrath for me because I made a choice she doesn’t want.
I had to do it sometime. With this, I have a fresh start, a new year as summer ends and it’s out with the old and in with the new and better risk-taking version of me.

Leave a Reply

